Jewish Leadership Council Appoints New Vice Presidents

The Jewish Leadership Council has appointed five new Vice-Presidents to join its varied and experienced leadership team. David Dangoor, Louise Ellman MP, Dame Helen Hyde, Dr Moshe Kantor and Karen Pollock MBE have been appointed for a new three year term.

The five new appointments takes the total number of JLC Vice President to 16. The role of the JLC's Vice-Presidents is to act as a resource to support the Jewish community leadership by advising the JLC's Trustees and Council of Membership. The new Vice-Presidents will add their varied experience to the organisations that make up the JLC and the Jewish community as a whole.

David Dangoor –David Dangoor is the President of the Board of The S&P Sephardi Community since 2011. He is the long term Sponsor Governor of Westminster Academy and Vice President of the World Organisation of Jews from Iraq.  He is a trustee of many charities including The Exilarch’s foundation and  the Simon Wiesenthal Centre as well as President of the Space Science and Engineering Foundation and the London Sephardi Trust. He is also President of Jewish Renaissance magazine and Chair of the Lord Lieutenant of Greater London’s Faith Council.

Louise Ellman MP - Ms Ellman was first elected to the House of Commons in 1997 and has served as Labour and Co-operative Member of Parliament for Liverpool, Riverside since that time. Ms Ellman was Leader of Lancashire County Council from 1981-1997. Ms Ellman attended the private Manchester High School for Girls, before studying Sociology and History at Hull University, followed by Social Administration at the University of York. As an MP for one the UK's most deprived areas, Ms Ellman has focused on urban regeneration and social inclusion during her time in the Commons and is a long term Chair of the Transport Committee as well as an Officer for Labour Friends of Israel.

Dame Helen Hyde - Helen Hyde became a teacher of French in the 1970s, subsequently doing her MA in Theology at King’s College London in 1974. She became Headmistress of Watford Grammar School for Girls in 1987. Helen has been a Holocaust Educator for many years. She organises and leads Holocaust Study trips abroad for students and adults. Her school was awarded Beacon status for the Holocaust education provided to students.

Dr Moshe Kantor - Dr. Kantor has served as the President of the European Jewish Congress since 2007. In 2016 he was re-elected for a fourth term. He is a prominent European Jewish leader and a visionary who also serves as the President of the World Holocaust Forum Foundation, Vice-Chairman of the Council of Yad Vashem, the Holocaust Martyrs' and Heroes' Remembrance Authority, Chairman of the Policy Council of the World Jewish Congress and President of the European Council on Tolerance.

Karen Pollock MBE – Karen Pollock MBE is the Chief Executive of the Holocaust Educational Trust, a national charity which educates young people from every background about the Holocaust and its contemporary relevance. Under her leadership the Holocaust Educational Trust secured Government funding to enable sixth form students from across the UK to visit Auschwitz- Birkenau and she spearheaded the campaign to gain Government recognition for British people who saved Jewish lives during the Holocaust.

Sir Mick Davis, Chairman of the Board of Trustees said:

It is a credit to the JLC’s standing within Anglo-Jewry that we have been able to attract such an experienced group of Vice Presidents who are able to impart their knowledge to us and our members. It is important that our community is able seek advice from leaders from all works of Jewish life and we are proud that we have been able to put this group together.

All Vice Presidents serve a three year term after which they may be reappointed.


Notes to editors

The full list of Vice Presidents is Sir Victor Blank, Sir Trevor Chinn CVO, David Dangoor, Louise Ellman MP, Lord Finkelstein, Henry Grunwald OBE QC, Dame Helen Hyde, Dr Moshe Kantor, Lord Kestenbaum, Lord Leigh, Baroness Neuberger, Leo Noe, Lord Palmer of Childs Hill, Karen Pollock MBE, Michele Vogel and Lord Woolf CH.